Toronto Eats: Stuft Gourmet Sausages

One thing I love about food trucks and the burgeoning Toronto street food scene is the spontaneity; that’s really good for someone like me who likes to read reviews of everything before I try it. On one hand I hate that the food trucks are never in the same place, because it’s hard to find them, and yet this makes it so wonderful when I discover  that a food truck is right where I am at that time. Most of the time I find out through social media, but it’s even better, when I stumble upon it while I’m, what, walking? Yeah.

The University of Toronto has a relatively a new Food Trucks Friday event which is awesome (but awful for my wallet). As I was walking to school, I passed by Stuft food truck which specializes in gourmet sausages. I really wanted to get to school, but I looked menu and all the different sausages sounded amazing. I chose the apricot minted lamb with “Ontario spring lamb, dried apricots, fresh mint, [and] fresh garlic.” I was also eyeing the Thai chicken sausage, portabello horseradish beef and Creole turducken.

To put it simply, this “sandwich” blew my mind. The lamb was moist and not dry at all. The mint perfectly complimented the, well, lambiness, which while present, was not overwhelming. I even found a good chunk of a garlic clove in there. I could not really taste the dried apricots, but they were not missed.

In addition to the sausage, I was able to choose a sauce. I asked one of the people in the truck if he had any suggestions to go with the lamb and he recommended the wasabi honey Dijon mustard. I could not disagree with that: just the right spiciness.

Lastly, I have to mention the bread from Silverstein’s Bakery. It was crusty and the perfect thickness to go with the sausage.  I was able to get a bit of bread and sausage in every bite. It was also well constructed (i.e. no drippage!). Essentially, it was a bun with the centre hollowed out to put in the sausage, but the bottom was intact.

For $9, it is a bit of a luxury for lunch. However, their website states that they use only “grass-fed beef, free-range chicken, free-raised lamb, all-natural pork, or organic turkey” which I think is really awesome for “street food.” If you catch Stuft on the road and feel like sausage, try it out!

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Reviews

4 responses to “Toronto Eats: Stuft Gourmet Sausages

  1. Shucks! Sounds really good! I wish we have some of those here in Asia.

  2. Josh here from the BlinkPack blog. I just went to my first food truck rally and thought I would try to find others who were into the craze as well. Your blog is great. I wish you all the best with your blogging. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

