Say hi, Sai Kung

I can’t believe I have been back for almost a week now. It’s hard not to miss being in Hong Kong. I love Toronto, but in Hong Kong I was always discovering something new. I need to check out some local listings to see what is up this summer.

After a relaxed weekend at home, I started my second internship on Monday in Markham. I am commuting about 1.5 hours each way from downtown. I’m not going to lie: it’s quite exhausting even though I’m not the one driving. I know people do this every day, so I won’t complain any more. I’ve also never been to Warden or this far east on the TTC before which is exciting.

I was so tired the last couple nights partly from the commute and partly from the tail-end of my jet lag that I didn’t write the posts I wanted to about Hong Kong. But seeing these pictures from Sai Kung wakes me up 🙂

A couple of weeks ago I went to Sai Kung in the Northern Territories to admire the geological formations and nature which really does exist in Hong Kong. I joined a tour because one requires a boat to go to the outlying islands. I figured a tour would be easier than hiring a boat when I got to Sai Kung Town. It also included the drive out.

After meeting up in Hung Hom in Kowloon in the morning, we went to the Lions Nature Education Centre near Sai Kung Town. I enjoyed seeing the orchards and reading about agriculture in Hong Kong.

After, we drove to Sai Kung Town down to the pier where we would board the boat. But first, seafood lunch! I had lunch at a table with a clinic of 11 dentists who were also on the tour. They said they didn’t have any patients that day 😉 This was a good test of my Cantonese skills.

Shot of the town by the pier.

View from the pier.

And we’re off on the boat.

I had such a fantastic day. The weather was perfect. I loved meeting new people on the tour group too. The places we visited are in the Hong Kong Geopark.

Our first stop was Sharp Island (Kiu Tsui Chau). Clear waters, a rare sight.

There we saw what they call bo lo bau rocks because they look like the top of the bo lo bau. I totally see it 🙂

Awesome rock formations — hexagonal volcanic rocks. Ok, I am not a geologist, but I am trying 😉

Ung Kong Group — apparently the “arch” is one of the most photographed areas in the region. We weren’t allowed to get off the boat here.

Along the way we saw these fishing areas, I believe.

Finally we stopped at Kau Sai Fisherman Village. Another beautiful beach and area. It was interesting to see the homes there.

View from the dock.

Fishing village by the pier.

Leave a comment

Filed under City, Life, Travel

Leave a Reply

