HK Eats: Lan Fong Yuen

I’m making my way through all the must-eats in Hong Kong before I leave. Even so, I visited the famed cha chaang teng Lan Fong Yuen twice. I hope to go there at least one more time before I depart. Lan Fong Yuen is considered to be one of the best, or at least the most well-known, cha chaan tengs in HK, and many tourists come here.

A cha chaan teng literally means “tea restaurant” in Cantonese. They serve affordable Hong Kong-style foods all day. The atmosphere is casual. Without relating everything to North America, I feel that cha chaan tengs are similar to diners since both serve homey and comfort foods.

First up, milk tea. Milk tea is steeped in mesh cloth bags, which make the tea extra strong. It’s also known “pantyhose tea” because the cloth bags look like pantyhose. I’m not sure if any cha chaan tengs actually steep the tea in (clean) stockings!

Lan Fong Yuen’s milk tea was delicious. It was the perfect mix between a strong tea and the creamy evaporated milk.

When I was younger, my parents used to make me buttered toast with sugar sprinkled on top. It is definitely a treat especially coming from my parents. They told me this “dish” is actually served in HK! I wanted to try what it was “really” like in HK.

I attempted to order it on my first visit, but I felt a little sheepish when the server told me I could order the buttered toast and sprinkle the sugar on myself. Since I really wanted to taste my childhood favourite again, I did get the buttered toast. Of course I could have made it myself, but the toast was perfectly crispy and soft inside and I don’t usually buy salted butter. I also sprinkled just a bit of sugar on top! I would never do this in Toronto 😛

On my second trip I got HK-style French toast. This had Kaya jam smeared between two slices of bread. It was dipped in egg, deep-fried and served with a little pat of butter on top. This was even more indulgent, but crispy and sweet.

Even though I am not qualified to be a judge of the best cha chaan tengs in HK, Lan Fong Yuen, to me, lives up to its reputation.

Lan Fong Yuen is located at 2 Gage Street, Central, Hong Kong.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Travel

2 responses to “HK Eats: Lan Fong Yuen

  1. Just found your blog today and I am really happy I did – it’s great to read about your experiences (and all the food!) in Hong Kong. I’ve only been here for 18 months and I’ve not been to all the places you’ve mentioned, so I’ll definitely add Lan Fong Yuen to my list. Ruth 🙂

    • Bea

      Thanks for stopping by, Ruth! Glad you like the post and I hope you will like Lan Fong Yuen 🙂 I started reading your blog and will definitely have to note down the places you’ve been into. Unfortunately I’m only here for two more weeks, so I’ve got to get eating 😉

Leave a Reply

