HK Eats: Hui Lau Shan

I have mentioned my love for mangos in this blog before. That is why Hui Lau Shan sounded like the perfect place for me. Hui Lau Shan is a chain restaurant that specializes in purportedly healthy desserts and drinks with a focus on fresh fruit, particularly mangos. I had read great reviews about it so when I passed by one in Causeway Bay, I popped in for tea (I am really adapting to the HK eating schedule!).

Like always, I was overwhelmed by the extensive menu, but they had an English menu upon request. The menu had many variations of desserts with mango. In the end, I chose glutinous rice balls in mango juice with fresh mango and mango ice cream.

The dish was refreshing, but I also was a little disappointed because of the hype. My favourite parts were the fresh mango chunks and the mango juice slush base that was sweet and had a deep mango flavour. I found the mango ice cream gritty. I later read that they use a lot of mango pulp to make the ice cream. That might have explained the texture. I didn’t find the mango ice cream to taste intensely of mango though. I was most disappointed in the glutinous rice balls. They were too doughy and hard. They might have been too cold.

I definitely plan on going back to Hui Lau Shan to give it another try. I think I was most turned off by the glutinous rice balls so I will either try the sago version of this dessert instead or try something new like mango pudding. I do like the concept of using fresh fruit in desserts.

Hui Lau Shan has many locations. I went to one on 2-6 Yee Wo Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Reviews, Travel, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

