Week 1: Couch to 5K

Today I finished Week 1 of the Couch to 5K program. I often start exercise programs on a whim. I decided one day to start Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred and got up to Day 20 before stopping because of exams. I also started this running program on a whim too. I was not sure how I would fit in exercise here, but it seemed that this program could be fit in easily to my schedule.

I’ve never been comfortable running (e.g. lots of bad memories of Gr. 4 cross country runs). I look forward to running regularly, but I’m not sure if I’m ready to use this blog to keep me accountable yet. I enjoyed Week 1 a lot, but the program starts out slowly (run 60 sec/walk 90 sec). I can see the appeal of running, since I can just let my mind wander. When I am doing workout videos, Jillian Michaels is shouting at me and it’s definitely not reflection time ๐Ÿ˜‰

I am exercising outside in the Botanical Gardens and there’s a great “track” to run around the fountain. The scenery is beautiful. There’s no need for music because I can hear the bird in the work. However, today I was listening to Carly Rae Jepsen on repeat, ha ha. I particularly love seeing middle-aged Chinese doing tai chi in the park while I run.

When the fountain is on:

ย Flamingos!

I was hesitant about exercising outside in this humidity, but it has been surprisingly pleasant. I feel I warm up quicker. I figure if middle-aged and elderly people can exercise in this humidity, so can I. Wait, they are way more badass than I could ever be so that’s not a good gauge.

Excuse the crazy hair below!

4 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Life, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Week 1: Couch to 5K

  1. pirateopalla

    The Botanical Garden is my gym too every time I visit Hong Kong. Love the fresh air (so precious in HK) there in the morning, the flowers and the sounds of nature.

  2. onehealthymunchkin

    Hey Bea!!! I’m sorry it took me so long to come check out your blog – I’ve been majorly busy lately! But I’m excited to keep up with your blog now and read about what you’re up to.

    Congrats on starting the couch to 5K program! I used to HATE running too… I could never even finish the runs they made us do in high school. ๐Ÿ˜› But I worked up to it gradually too until I could run for long periods of time. You’ll be doing 10K runs before you know it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Bea

      Thanks for visiting my blog, Chels!! I’m still getting the hang of it but it’s fun so far ๐Ÿ™‚
      That sounds encouraging, althoug it seems a ways away right now ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s definitely a great goal to work towards slowly.

Leave a Reply

